Shine

shoeshine

The photograph is out of focus, but I still want to introduce you to this old lady I first met about 300 years ago. For the 300 hundred years I have known her she has been sitting outside Shibuya station polishing shoes for busy people. Sometimes. When the busy people notice her. But most of the time they don’t. Still, she always greets me with a big warm smile and her standard line: “No, no, don’t worry about me – the times are only going to get tougher.”

Next time you’re in Shibuya, why not go have your shoes polished?

写真はぶれてるけど、それでもこのおばあちゃんを皆さんに紹介したいと思います。初めて会ったのは300年前のことだったかな。その300年間の間おばあちゃんはずっと渋谷駅の前に座り込んで、いそがしい人の靴を磨き続けています。ときどき。いそがしい人がおばあちゃんのことを気づくときだけ。ただ、ほとんどのいそがしい人が気づかないので、おばあちゃんはあまり忙しくない。それでもいつもの暖かい笑顔でいつもと同じ挨拶をしてくれる。「いいの、いいの。これからはもっと厳しくなるから。」

今度渋谷にいるとき、靴を磨いてもらったらどう?

2 Responses to “Shine”

  1. nochi Says:

    つい、先日ですよ、朝、友人と渋谷駅で待ち合わせをしていたときに、おばあちゃんをみかけました!
    おばあちゃんの事がきにかかったのですが
    あまり時間もなかったし、その時はいていた靴が、磨き所のほとんどないサンダルだったので、何もせずでした。
    今度時間のあるときに私もおばあちゃんに靴を磨いてもらおうかな。

  2. usagi Says:

    nochiさんへ

    今度おばあちゃんと世間話しながら、靴を磨いてもらって!
    おばあちゃんきっと喜ぶよ。

    u

Leave a Reply

